Falcons cut 22

The Falcons announced the release of 22 players to finalize their roster down the league mandate of 53 players. Among them, the most stunning of moves was the release of kicker Billy Cundiff. He will be replaced by Matt Prater, a first-year player that was signed only a few days ago. Prater however shined against the Ravens on Friday night, making two of three field goal attempts, and putting three of his four kickoffs in the endzone. The Falcons also released tight end Daniel Fells, center P.J. Alexander, tackle Frank Omiyale, defensive end Paul Carrington, defensive tackles T.J. Jackson and Darell Shropshire, and linebacker John Leake, all players that were holdovers from last year. Quarterback Casey Bramlet was also released, leaving the team with only two quarterbacks on the roster, opening speculation that another will be added in the coming days.

Among the other cuts were: running backs Arlen Harris and Justin Vincent, receivers Otis Amey, Noriaki Kinoshita, Vincent Marshall, and Eric Weems, tight end George Cooper, offensive linemen Bo Lacy and Kurt Quarterman, defensive end Nic Clemons, linebacker Travis Williams, and cornerbacks Tony Franklin and Brent Grimes.

None of the eleven players among the Falcons 2007 draft class was released, although center Doug Datish is currently on injured reserve. Offensive tackle Renardo Foster and linebacker Tony Taylor are the lone undrafted rookie free agents that made the roster.

The Falcons will have to establish an eight-man practice squad tomorrow. Many of those players added to the practice squad will likely be among the twenty players released today.

About the Author

Aaron Freeman
Founder of FalcFans.com