Jones and Hester Voted to Pro Bowl

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Devin Hester celebrates

The NFL revealed the players that would be eligible for the “un-conferenced” Pro Bowl teams, which included two Atlanta Falcons in wide receivers Julio Jones and Devin Hester. Jones was one of eight wide receivers selected while Hester was one of two return specialists voted in.

This will mark Jones’ second Pro Bowl bid, after earning his way into the game in 2012. Hester has been named as a return specialist three times to the Pro Bowl, most recently in 2010.

Jones currently ranks second in the league in receiving yards with 1,535 yards and third with 100 receptions. Both mark career-highs for Jones, who is playing in his fourth season in the NFL.

Hester leads the league with 1,021 kickoff return yards. His 13.3 yards per punt return is also tied for the league lead. Hester also returned a punt for a touchdown in Week 3, breaking the all-time record for most return touchdowns with 20.

The league switched to an “un-conferenced” format a year ago, doing away with the standard AFC vs. NFC format that had been a staple since the all-star game’s inception. Now, players from both conferences will be eligible to be drafted by a pair of captains to two teams. This year’s captains are Hall of Fame wide receivers Michael Irvin and Cris Carter. The draft will be held on January 21.

Last season, tight end Tony Gonzalez was the only Falcon player to make the Pro Bowl after being named an alternate and replacing Vernon Davis.

About the Author

Aaron Freeman
Founder of