Smith wins coach of the year award

Another Falcon earned an illustrious season honor with head coach Mike Smith earning the Associated Press’s Coach of the Year award by a single vote over Miami Dolphins head coach Tony Sparano.

Smith received 23.5 votes over Sparano’s 22.5 votes for the honor. Smith helped improve the Falcons from a 4-12 to an 11-5 record this season. Sparano helped the Dolphins to an 11-5 record and AFC East title after a 1-15 season in 2007.

Smith and Sparano shared USA Today’s Coach of the Year honors, both garnering 30 votes, although Smith received one more first place vote than Sparano.

About the Author

Aaron Freeman
Founder of